Arkansas Arts Center announces Delta Exhibition artists

Author: Arkansas Arts CenterFiled under: Delta Exhibition, Exhibitions, Museum

Tags: , , ,

Regional artists’ work will be featured in the 60th anniversary exhibition, May 25 – Aug. 26, 2018

The Arkansas Arts Center’s 60th Annual Delta Exhibition will feature 46 exceptional artists from the Mississippi Delta region.

Marjorie Williams-Smith, The Messengers, 2018, copperpoint, aluminumpoint, silverpoint, Conte crayon, and graphite pencil on black acrylic gesso, 30 x 22 inches

“Every year, the Delta Exhibition gives Arkansas Arts Center patrons the opportunity to experience some of the Delta region’s most talented contemporary artists,” said Todd Herman, Arkansas Arts Center Executive Director.

Showcasing artists living and working in Arkansas and its border states, the Annual Delta Exhibition presents a vision of contemporary art in the American South. Founded in 1958, the exhibition provides a unique snapshot of the Delta region and features work in all media. On view May 25 through August 26, 2018, the exhibition reflects the region’s strong traditions of craftsmanship and observation, combined with an innovative use of materials and an experimental approach to subject matter.

Celebrating the exhibition’s 60th year with a return to its roots, the 60th Annual Delta Exhibition was juried by a panel of three distinguished art professionals: Bradbury Art Museum director Les Christensen, conceptual artist Shea Hembrey, and Baum Gallery director Brian K. Young.

Christensen, Hembrey and Young selected 52 artworks by 46 artists, representing 10 states. They were chosen from 1,424 entries by 618 artists. The panel of jurors will select a $2,500 Grand Award and two $750 Delta Awards. A $250 Contemporaries Delta Award will be selected by the Contemporaries, an auxiliary membership group of the Arkansas Arts Center.

Leslie Ann (Les) Christensen is Director of the Bradbury Art Museum at Arkansas State University, a position she has held since 2001. Trained as a sculptor working with a variety of media, Christensen’s artwork has appeared in six previous Delta Exhibitions; her Portrait with Fur Collar won an Honorable Mention in the 29th Annual Delta Exhibition (1986).

Shea Hembrey is an American conceptual artist. An advocate for artwork that “marries intellectual rigor, technical mastery, and heart and soul,” Hembrey earned his Master of Fine Arts degree from Cornell University, Ithaca, New York. In 2011 he received national attention with the release of “seek,” a biennial of art, which contained artwork by 100 artists – all of whom were invented by Hembrey and for which he created the artwork. That same year he delivered a TED talk entitled, “How I Became 100 Artists,” which has since been viewed more than 1.5 million times. Hembrey lives and works in Hickory Grove, Arkansas.

Brian K. Young earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in Art History from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, and his Master of Arts degree in Art History from The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio. Since August 2016, Young has served as the Director of the Baum Gallery, University of Central Arkansas, Conway, Arkansas, where is also a lecturer in the Department of Art. Prior to joining the Baum Gallery, Young worked as a

Tracy Treadwell, Lean3, 2018, wood and steel, 40 x 87 x 11 inches

curator at several institutions, including: the Arkansas Arts Center, Little Rock, Arkansas; the Academy Art Museum, Easton, Maryland; the University of Maryland University College, Adelphi, Maryland; and Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, Baltimore, Maryland.

Award winners will be announced at a member preview and reception at 6 p.m. on Thursday, May 24 in the Children’s Theatre. Guests will then be invited to the Jeannette Edris Rockefeller and Townsend Wolfe Galleries to view the exhibition. Artists and Arkansas Arts Center members are invited to attend.

The 60th Annual Delta Exhibition is sponsored by Isabel and John Ed Anthony; The Brown Foundation, Inc., of Houston; Mrs. Lisenne Rockefeller; Terri and Chuck Erwin; Friday, Eldredge & Clark, LLP; the AAC Contemporaries; and Barbara House. The Grand Award is supported by The John William Linn Endowment Fund.

Tim Hursley, Comet Rice, Stuttgart, Arkansas, 2017, chromogenic color print, 46 x 70 inches

The exhibition is supported by the Andre Simon Memorial Trust in memory of everyone who has died of acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS).

Artists featured in the 60th Annual Delta Exhibition include:

  • Max Adrian of Gatlinburg, Tenn.
  • John Allison of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Pokey Alrutz of Springfield, Mo.
  • David Bailin of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Steven Barker of Mt. Pleasant, Texas
  • Loren Bartnicke of Auburn, N.Y.
  • Aaron Calvert of Arkadelphia, Ark.

    Robyn Horn, Wandering, 2017, redwood burl, 22 x 29 x 9 inches

  • Ian Campbell of Batesville, Ark.
  • Melissa Cowper-Smith of Morrilton, Ark.
  • Warren Criswell of Benton, Ark.
  • Adam Crosson of New Orleans, La.
  • Anais Dasse of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Tessa Davidson of Cabot, Ark.
  • Whitney Forsyth of Tulsa, Okla.
  • Daniel Franke of North Little Rock, Ark.
  • L. Gibson of Gatlinburg, Tenn.
  • Elisha Gold of Memphis, Tenn.
  • Neal Harrington of Russellville, Ark.
  • Tammy Harrington of Russellville, Ark.
  • LaToya Hobbs of Baltimore, Md.
  • Robyn Horn of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Jeff Horton of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Tim Hursley of Little Rock, Ark.

    Melissa Cowper-Smith, With Their Own Hands, 2017, pigment print on handmade paper (cotton, daylily, bamboo, hosta, yucca and linen cloth), 16 x 21 inches

  • Charles Henry James of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Benjamin Krain of Maumelle, Ark.
  • Lisa Krannichfeld of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Cynthia Kresse of Eureka Springs, Ark.
  • John Lasater of Siloam Springs, Ark.
  • James Matthews of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Jason McCann of Maumelle, Ark.
  • Dusty Mitchell of Mountain View, Ark.
  • Hannah Moll of Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Marc Mitchell of Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Joe Morzuch of Memphis, Tenn.
  • Dale Newkirk of Covington, La.
  • Ray Allen Parker of Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Donna Pinckley of Little Rock, Ark.

    Neal Harrington, Favorite Daughter and Rival Sons Diptych, 2017, woodcut with India ink wash, 24 x 48 inches

  • Spencer Purinton of El Dorado, Ark.
  • Marco Rosichelli of Kansas City, Mo.
  • Aj Smith of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Cary Smith of Little Rock, Ark.
  • Kathy Thompson of Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Tracy Treadwell of Memphis, Tenn.
  • Louis Watts of Burlington, N.C.
  • Milly West of Oxford, Miss.
  • Marjorie Williams-Smith of Little Rock, Ark.

Share this Post